Book hauls · Monthly wrap ups

May and June round-up

I hit a bit of a mental brick wall and so haven’t updated this for a little while. My apologies. With YALC fast approaching (just a couple of days left to go!) I thought I better catch you up on what I’ve been reading and buying recently.

May book haul

This was the last post I actually managed to write so in case you didn’t see it you can give it a read here.

May wrap up

I’m not going to attempt to write a great deal about these as it’ll only kill my desire to keep this going again, so instead here’s a list of the six books I got through.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas – 4 stars
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas – 3 stars
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell – 3 stars
  • When We Collided by Emery Lord – 3 stars
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars

June book haul

Quite remarkably I only bought the one book last month, and even then it was just an e-book.

station eleven

I’d seen this book recommended by several booktubers (it’s particularly loved by Booksandlala) and so when I saw it was only 99p in the Kindle store I had to have it. Station Eleven moves between two different points in time, from the death on stage of a Hollywood actor and consequent rapidly-spread deadly flu epidemic to following a theatre troop fifteen years later when only 1% of the world’s population is still alive. The apocalyptic novel is meant to be beautifully written and so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

June wrap up

Again with the bullet points…

  • The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas – 2 stars
  • I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson – 3 stars
  • Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield – 4 stars
  • Margot & Me by Juno Dawson – 3 stars
  • Nothing Tastes As Good by Claire Hennessey – 3 stars
  • How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss – 3 stars

x x x

Like I said, I’m off to YALC this weekend so you can expect to see a full post about it sometime in the next couple of weeks. In the mean time you can follow my bookish Twitter and Instagram accounts for live updates.

Leave a Reply

