Book hauls

April book haul

I didn’t get much in the way of physical books this month, but somehow wound up with a handful of e-arcs. It doesn’t exactly help with reducing my TBR pile but they sounded too good to pass up.

wind on fire

The first three paperbacks I acquired this month were purchased during my trip to Astley Book Farm early in the month. Whilst browsing the children’s section I found practically-perfect copies of Slaves of the Mastery and Firesong by William Nicholson. These are the second and third books in the Wind on Fire trilogy, a series which I read about 8 years ago. Whilst I still owned the books, I had a mixture of cover styles which is a pet peeve of mine. I was therefore happy to find these so that I’ve now got a set of matching covers (I’ll be donating my original copies of these books to charity).

catch-22

I also picked up Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. This was on my mental list of vintage/classic books that I want to get round to reading at some point in my life, so spotting this near-new edition for a reasonable price was quite fortuitous. I know very little about what it’s about other than it being a satirical take on WW2 so I read the first page before buying it to see if I’d get on with it – the opening paragraph on “nearly jaundice” had me chuckling so I should hopefully enjoy it, whenever that may be.

thug

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas has been talked about everywhere over the last few months and so I just had to get hold of it for myself when it got released in the UK. I’m pretty sure most of you will know what the book is about but if not if follows Starr who witnesses the death of her friend Khalil by a white police officer. I started reading it straight away so you can expect to see it in my April wrap up.

nora

I was browsing Amazon’s free Kindle books as they occasionally have something decent available and the cover of Nora & Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor caught my interest. I looked it up and found out it’s a historical fiction YA novel that’s loosely based on Peter Pan. Given that it would cost me nothing and that it’s received many positive reviews I thought I’d give it a try.

fairy

Moving on to the e-arcs I acquired then (I have no idea how I ended up with so many). I can’t remember if I spotted it whilst browsing or received an email from NetGalley, but a book with the title My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen was bound to call out to me. The synopsis of a queer male/male retelling of Cinderella signed the deal. I’ve already read the book so I’ll link to my review once I’ve written it.

girls

Next is Like Other Girls by Claire Hennessy, an e-arc I requested mostly because of the author. The trope of “not being like other girls” is quite the controversial one and so a book that tackles it head-on sounds quite interesting. Having scanned the reviews it features LGBT characters and deals with the issue of abortions in Ireland so it’s going to cover a bit of a mix of topics.

caterpillars

There are many reasons why Caterpillars Can’t Swim by Liane Shaw sounds like it’s going to be a good read. The main character gets around in a wheelchair, there’s a presumably LGBT secondary character, and there’s a trip to ComicCon. It hasn’t had many reviews yet as it’s not out until September but my instincts are telling me I’m going to enjoy it.

spectrum

Similarly to the above, On the Spectrum comes out in September and had three reasons for my requesting of it – a girl with an eating disorder, a boy on the autistic spectrum, and a Paris setting (I’m planning on reading it whilst on holiday in the summer because of the latter).

dimple

Finishing us off is the most hyped book of my e-arcs, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. The book centers on two Indian-American teenagers whose parents have arranged for them to be married – Dimple who hates the idea, and Rishi who loves it. Everyone is saying that this is a cute summer romance with pretty accurate representation so I’m looking forward to reading it.

x x x

I honestly thought that this month would be a quiet one in terms of getting new books. Oops. I guess e-arcs don’t really count, right?

Leave a Reply

