Book hauls

March book haul

I have to say given that it was my birthday in March I did fairly well and only acquired four books, meaning my goal to read more than what I accumulate each month is back in action.

conjuring

Those of you who read my March wrap up will already know that I bought A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab as a birthday present to myself. The whole trilogy now sits on my favourites bookshelves and looks pretty darn good (although it is a little irritating that the third book has a matt finish rather than the gloss finish that the first two have).

hugo

Sticking with my birthday my brother bought me The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. I’ve wanted it for years but had only added it to my Amazon wishlist about a week before my birthday so it was quite the surprise when I opened up the package. I’ve got the DVD so I know what the story is about but I’m looking forward to reading theย book.

ava

Next are a couple of e-books that I picked up from Amazon’s Kindle spring sale, the first being The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I have to admit I know next to nothing about this book other than it’s about a girl with wings. It’s definitely a cover purchase, but I saw Hannah from A Clockwork Reader include it in one of her videos and generally speaking we like the same books so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it.

tastes

Finally we have Nothing Tastes as Good by Claire Hennessy. I attended YALC last year and the author came across quite well, so that combined with the hard-hitting topics her novels tackle increased my interest in reading her work. Again I don’t know a great deal about this book but I know it’s about a girl who has/is recovering from an eating disorder and there’s also a kind of schizophrenic aspect.

x x x

A short but sweet haul for March. I should in theory be good in April and not buy anything as I’ve got to start thinking about YALC in July. On the other hand I discovered online a second-hand book barn not too far from where I live which I’m very tempted to visit. Let’s see how long I can hold out…

Leave a Reply

