Monthly wrap ups

March wrap up

I managed to read six books in March which was more than I was expecting due to the length of one of them (you may be able to guess which one from the header photo).

lily

Tying me over from February was Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley which I read the e-book of. This is the tail (sorry, couldn’t resist the pun) of Ted, his dachshund Lily and the octopus who takes root on her head. Ok, so it’s actually a tumour, but it’s very much a living octopus in Ted’s opinion, in a similar way to how Lily talks to him. Given the set-up you can imagine how this is not the happiest story in the world (I certainly cried a fair amount) but it’s also heartwarming. Any pet-owner, especially those with dogs, will identify with the relationship that Ted has with Lily, but there’s also plenty on the topics of romantic and familial relationships. There is a bit of a weird section that takes place on a ship which knocked a star off my rating but otherwise if you’re looking for something akin to Marley and Me then I recommend picking this up.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars.

time machine

Next up is The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, an e-book which I got through in an afternoon. The short story begins at a dinner party that the narrator is attending, hosted by a man who claims to have created a time machine. At this first party he gives a demonstration of a small prototype, and at the second a week later he tells them all about the time travelling adventure he has just returned from. It’s the latter that makes up the majority of the short story as he describes everything that happened to him when he traveled hundreds of thousands of years into the future. There was an interesting section on how humans shape the world to suit our own needs and the results of doing so, as well as plenty of discussion between the haves and the have-nots which I found quite relevant to today’s society. There was however some problematic language and themes but that was fairly normal for the time of writing. I’m glad that I’ve finally read it but it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars.

peculiar

My first physical read in March was Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs. This is a collection of short stories, myths and legends from the world of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It’s a good companion to the series and very much sticks to the weird and wonderful feel of the books. Some stories are better than others but overall it was a fairly balanced read. The book itself is gorgeous with lovely endpapers, illustrations and gold ink throughout.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars.

conjuring

As it was my birthday this month I treated myself to A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab as I just had to read the conclusion to the trilogy. Given that it’s the last book I can’t really say anything about it because of spoilers but in case you don’t know what the series is about then it’s about magic, power and four parallel Londons. At over 600 pages long it took me a while to get through it, but the plot kept me interested and I loved every minute of it. This book involved more violence than the previous two, with some particularly graphic descriptions that squeamish readers may wish to gloss over. All in all it was a pretty great end to the series, although it would be nice to return to the world in a few years time as I think there’s more to explore.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars (I’m not sure if I rated this too low and may up it to a 4 at some point).

note

I didn’t want to read anything too heavy after A Conjuring of Light and so I picked up the e-arc of Noteworthy by Riley Redgate which I received via NetGalley. At some point in the near future I’ll write a full review for it as it’s released at the beginning of May, but in short it was a fun read about music, friendships and relationships with a great diverse mix of characters.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars.

sky

The final book that I finished in March was The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. I read I’ll Give You the Sun last April and rather enjoyed it so I thought I’d give the author’s debut novel I try. It follows Lennie whose older sister Bailey died about a month ago as she returns to high school. As well as dealing with her grief there’s also the involvement of two boys which causes all kinds of complications. Whilst I could kind of understand why Lennie was torn between them I actually just found it all rather annoying. I found the family plot and characters more interesting, with Gram being particularly kooky and charming. I also liked the music aspect (especially as I used to play the clarinet just as Lennie does) but the illustrations did confuse me a little as they’re not quite accurate. A bit of a mediocre book overall but it does look nice next to I’ll Give You the Sun.

Goodreads rating = 3 stars.

x x x

So there you have it. Six books and another three items off the PopSugar Challenge completed. Thanks to working at a school I now have two weeks off work so I’m hoping to read plenty of books in April (I’ve actually already finished one that I started at the end of March).

One thought on “March wrap up

Leave a Reply

