Bookish extras

A to Z Bookish Survey

So that my blog isn’t completely dormant between my monthly haul and wrap up posts I thought I’d do some tags to bridge the gap. It’ll also give you more of an opportunity to get to know me if you’re interested in that kind of thing.

I did a search and found the A to Z Bookish Survey on Brin’s Book Blog, with the tag originally created by The Perpetual Page-Turner.

Author you’ve read the most books from
I read a lot of series when I was younger and so the majority of my most-read authors come from that. The top five are as follows:

  • Meg Cabot – approximately 20 (The Princess Diaries series plus some mini-series and standalones)
  • Cecily von Ziegesar – approximately 15 (all of the Gossip Girl series, plus some of the It Girl series and The Carlyles series)
  • Eoin Colfer – 15 (Artemis Fowl series plus some standalones)
  • Karen McCombie – 14 (Ally’s World series)
  • Louise Rennison – 10 (Confessions of Georgia Nicholson series)

Best sequel ever
Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I loved Illuminae and Gemina was even better.

Currently reading
Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs.

Drink of choice while reading
If I’m reading a physical book then I actually tend to put it down whilst I have a drink just in case I spill it. It’s usually tea though (Early Grey, milk, 2-3 sugars).

E-reader or physical book
Now that I’ve got an e-reader (well, tablet) I’ve grown to appreciate the ease of having e-books, however I’ll always prefer the look and smell of physical books. Plus bookshelf aesthetic and all that.

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school
Hahaha. None. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read plenty of crush-worthy characters, but I was too scared to date anyone whilst at school. Still am now tbh.

Glad you gave this book a chance
I think the book most out of my comfort zone that I’ve read and enjoyed is Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. I was a bit apprehensive going into it that it would be too heavy for me but as every chapter was about a new character it kept things interesting.

Hidden gem book
This is a bit of a tough one. I’ll go with Night Owls by Jenn Bennett as I didn’t really know much about it before I bought it and ended up giving it 4 stars.

Important moment in your reading life
Discovering BookTube about a year ago I guess. I was in a bit of a slump and watching videos helped to reignite my love of reading. It had quite the impact on my bank balance as well hehe.

Just finished
The Time Machine by HG Wells.

Kinds of books you won’t read
Horror/thriller is my biggest no-go. I’m not overly fond of historical fiction or super romantic books either.

Longest book you’ve read
A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin (873 pages not including the appendix). I spent six months in total reading the first two books in the series so it’s no wonder they caused my 2015 reading slump. I’ve yet to gather the courage to read the rest of the series.

Major book hangover because of
I’m not really sure I’ve had a book hangover as such. Nothing is coming to mind anyway.

Number of bookcases you own
Three, although technically two of them are shelving units rather than proper bookcases.

One book you have read multiple times
I can’t say for certain which book I’ve re-read the most but I think it’s the first book in the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer at three times.

Preferred place to read
In bed, or at least on it. I reckon about 95% of my reading takes place there.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read
I’ve only started recording book quotes this year because of my reading journal so I haven’t got much to go on. I’ll go with “You can have anything once you admit you deserve it” from If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo.

Reading regret
I don’t think I’ve really regretted reading a book, or not reading one for that matter.

Series you started and need to finish(all books are out in series)
I’m going to be a little bit cheeky here and say the Shades of Magic trilogy by V. E. Schwab. I’ve read the first two books and have recently ordered the third/final book so it won’t be long until I’ve finished the series.

Three of your all-time favorite books
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, and All The Other Ghosts by Rainjoy. Ok, so that last one isn’t commercially available as it’s a fanfic but I own it in printed form and it’s amazing so I’m counting it.

Unapologetic fangirl for
Patrick Ness and David Levithan. I haven’t quite read all of their work yet as there’s a heck of a lot of stuff out there, but they’re two of my favourite authors and I was so happy that I got to meet them both last year.

Very excited for this release more than all the others
This is a tough one as I’ve got a fairly long list of books coming out this year that I want. Maybe the final book in the Illuminae Files? Although that’s going to be a bittersweet release as I don’t want the series to be over already.

Worst bookish habit
I wouldn’t say I have any bad habits regarding books/reading. I suppose I’m a bit obsessive with not damaging my books, to the extent that I open my paperbacks the smallest amount possible to guarantee that I don’t crack the spine. My mum often comments that she’s too scared to borrow any of my books in case she doesn’t return it to me in perfect condition.

X marks the spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book
I’ll use my favourites shelving unit for this so The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.

Your latest book purchase
A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late)
I’m really not someone for staying up late as I love my sleep too much. For example I stayed up until 11pm last week in order to finish Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley and that was fairly late by my standards.

One thought on “A to Z Bookish Survey

Leave a Reply

