Book hauls

February book haul

Self-control is seemingly a foreign concept to me. “No more books,” she said. “Get through your TBR pile first,” she said. And yet somehow I gained 4 paperbacks, 4 e-books and 1 e-galley this month.  I’m useless.

heartless

Amazon well and truly seduced me with their offers during the half term break. How’s a girl meant to resist a 3 for £10 offer? First up then is Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I read the e-galley back in December (you can read my review here) and rather enjoyed it so I decided to buy the paperback to add to my shelves. I love the red foil effect on the cover and spine – it shines beautifully when the light hits it.

thunder

Another book which I read the e-galley of back in December was A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard (review). Again I wanted to own the paperback and similarly this also has a nice foil effect, this time in gold.

raven

I also bought The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, however it’s going to be a while until I get round to it as I haven’t even read the first book in the series yet (cue public outcry). I figured I might as well get it whilst it’s cheap because I do love a bargain. I don’t currently own books two and three but I’ll pick them up at some point so that I can read the entire series in one go.

dash

The last physical book that I bought this month was The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I read the first book (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares) almost five years ago and so remember very little about it. I’m fairly sure I found it a cute read though and being quite a fan of David Levithan I just had to pick this one up. It’s going to have to sit in my TBR pile for a while though as being a festive story it’ll make a better read in December.

see

In addition to their paperback offer, Amazon also enticed me with their £0.99 YA e-books offer during half term (this post isn’t sponsored by them or anything by the way – I just buy most of my books through them). It’s hard not to notice the bright cover of Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom and so when it popped up on BookTube last year it caught my attention. I don’t know much about it other than it’s about a blind girl who is dealing with the recent death of her father as well as an ex-boyfriend (or ex-crush, I’m not 100% sure) who has returned after several years away.

trouble

Ok, so I know that the author has received some bad press and that there’s a strong sense of manic pixie dream girl from the synopsis of this book, but I still ended up buying Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach. It wasn’t really on my wishlist but hey, it cost next to nothing so it’s worth a try.

earl

Similarly Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews also wasn’t on my wishlist, however it’s been slightly more on my radar because of the film adaptation (not that I’ve seen it). It apparently deals with terminal illness but in a comedic/snarky approach and has received either glowing or dismal reviews, so I’m not quite sure what to expect of this one.

holes

I can safely say that I’ve had my eye on My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga for a little while so this purchase was probably the most wanted of all the books in this haul. It’s about a depressed teenage girl who makes a suicide pact with a boy she gets talking to online, so by no means is going to be a strictly happy book. I do like a hard-hitting story from time to time though so as long as I balance it out with a lighter read afterwards I should hopefully be fine.

birds

Last of all is If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak which I received via NetGalley. I saw that Macmillan Children’s Books had made four upcoming releases available and this one sounded the most interesting. It centers on a girl whose sister has run away, a boy who has just found out who his father is, and how their lives intertwine. Teenage romance combined with family troubles is a bit of a common theme with contemporary YA novels so we’ll see how this one compares to others that I’ve read.

x x x

So that’s nine books I’ve acquired in February when it should have been zero. At least I’ve read a similar number of books this month so my TBR pile hasn’t really increased that much. You can find out what I read in my wrap up post on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

