Book hauls

Book haul: Christmas edition

I had to postpone the writing of my Christmas book haul due to changes in seeing my family over the festive season but I’ve finally received all my gifts and so can now share my books with you.

I actually only received three books as direct gifts so I’ll begin with those.

hamilton

Starting us off is Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter. This is my favourite book of this haul and I’m so happy that I finally own it. Whilst I’m not as big of a fan of the musical as a lot of other people are, I still think it’s great and will be trying my luck at buying a ticket for the London shows when they go on sale at the end of this month. This book is mainly the musical’s libretto but also includes lots of photos of the original Broadway production as well as footnotes and behind the scenes information. The deckle edges and overall design result in a beautiful and considerably hefty book that I’ll be keeping out on display.

peculiar

Next up is Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs. This is a companion book to the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children trilogy and if memory serves me correctly actually features in those books. It is a collection of short stories that are part of peculiar folklore, with annotations and comments from one of my favourite characters from the series. This is another gorgeous hardback book with stunning illustrations to accompany each tale, making it look like a classic fairytale anthology.

beasts

My last gift and also last physical book is The Case of Beasts by Mark Salisbury. I have to be honest here and state that I’m not really a fan of Harry Potter but I did go to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them at the cinema. About a month ago I spotted this book whilst shopping with my mum and commented that it looked quite fun. Come Christmas and this ends up being a present I received from her. So yes, this is a bit of a curveball for me but it does look great thanks to the input from MinaLima and I’m looking forward to delving into it.

player

We now move on to two audiobooks that I bought myself. Well, I say bought but thanks to an Audible trial I actually got them for free. First up is Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, read by Wil Wheaton. This mixture of sci-fi and retro gaming sounds quite fun, although since I downloaded it I’ve heard that it’s not very favourable towards girl gamers which I’m disappointed to find out. I hope that I’ll still enjoy it but if not then at least it hasn’t cost me anything.

ari

The other audiobook that I acquired is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, read by Lin-Manuel Miranda. I already own and have read the paperback but I couldn’t resist getting the audiobook because of Miranda. There’s a sequel in the works anyway so it gives me a good excuse to visit the beginning of Ari and Dante’s story again.

heart

The final part of this haul is for a selection of e-books that I bought from Amazon for the great price of £0.99 each. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland is a YA contemporary and admittedly does have a bit of a manic pixie dream girl feel to the synopsis but according to a quick scan through reviews on Goodreads it’s actually a deeper tale and not overly tropetastic so fingers crossed.

true-love

Next is My True Love Gave to Me, an anthology edited by Stephanie Perkins. This collection of holiday stories from popular YA authors probably isn’t going to amaze me but I thought it would be a nice read over the festive season. Just a pity that it’s going to have to wait almost an entire year before I get round to reading it.

lily

I was very happy to see that Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley was available so cheaply as an e-book given that it hasn’t been released in paperback yet and the hardback retails for around £10. This book about a man’s relationship with his dog will definitely make me cry as I have such a weakness for stories involving animals.

looked

Earth-destruction stories aren’t usually my thing so it’s a little off-kilter for me to be interested in We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach but this book appears to focus on the characters rather than being too heavy on the impending doom. Here’s hoping that it doesn’t send me spiraling too much into an existential crisis.

birds

The final book in this haul is All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. Apparently this is another somewhat apocalyptic novel but this time takes more of a sci-fi/magical/bizarre route. I’ll admit that the cover played a big part in me choosing to buy it as I haven’t heard a great deal about it.

p1060807

And last but not least I couldn’t go without mentioning the Amazon Fire tablet that I bought using a fair chunk of my Christmas money. I was originally contemplating getting the Kindle Paperwhite but I decided that the added benefits of a tablet would be useful when I go on holiday. Hopefully reading books on it will be more comfortable than reading e-books on my laptop has been.

So there you have it. One fairly large Christmas book haul which I mostly got for myself. This will probably be the last haul for a while as I’ve now got more than 30 books waiting to be read. I might treat myself to a new release now and then as there’s currently 25 books on my list (and that’s just for the first half of the year), but I really am going to try to work through as much of my TBR pile as possible.

Leave a Reply

