Bookish extras

2017: How many books is too many?

It’s the first day of 2017 and I already have a massive pile of books to read this year, let alone the books that I’ll no doubt purchase during the next twelve months. Combined with the challenges that I want to participate in it means I’ve got a whole lot of reading to do.

I’ll start with the two main challenges I’m taking part in this year, the first being the Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge. My goals and achievements over the past few years are as follows:

  • 2013 – pledged 20 books, read 18
  • 2014 – pledged 20 books, read 22
  • 2015 – pledged 25 books, read 15
  • 2016 – pledged 15 books, read 43

You can tell I got sucked into Booktube last year can’t you? After much consideration I’ve decided to go for 40 books this year. Given the size of my existing TBR this should be achieved fairly easily. I think I’m capable of reading more than that but I don’t want to set it too high and then end up disappointing myself.

A goal of 40 books will also fit in nicely with the Popsugar 2017 Reading Challenge, a challenge which I shall be participating in for the first time. A lot of my TBR books match items on the list which will make life easier for me, however there’s a few items that I might need recommendations for later in the year. It’ll be great if I can go on to complete the advanced items but we’ll see how it goes.

As I’ve mentioned my TBR is quite lengthy and so for further motivation to get through them all I’ve set up my to-read shelf on Goodreads. I’m not bothering to add on my wishlist as that’ll be at least another 50 books which will be far too intimidating. Maybe that’s something I can do towards the end of the year.

In terms of this blog I want to be more consistent in my posting. I often struggle to find the motivation to write reviews, especially when I’ve been particularly busy at work, but I’ve got to push on through and forbid myself from starting a new book until I’ve reviewed what I’ve just finished. On that basis I should be posting reviews around once a week. I’ll no doubt have a few hauls to do now and again but I’m trying to stick to a book-buying ban until I get through those I already own. Hopefully I’ll also have a few extra posts from time to time involving going to book events and watching film adaptations (as a heads up I should be writing a little something about A Monster Calls in the next couple of days).

I’d love to hear what your reading goals are for this year and any challenges you’re participating in. Sharing progress throughout the year will no doubt help boost us all along.

One thought on “2017: How many books is too many?

Leave a Reply

