Book hauls

Book haul: One for you, six for me

I went on Amazon to order a book as part of my mum’s Christmas present and somehow ended up ordering six books for myself as well. Oops. To be fair they were on offer (3 for £10) so can you really blame me?

penguin-lessons

First up is The Penguin Lessons by Tom Michell. I’d never come across this book before but I was instantly drawn in by both the cover and the title. I rarely read non-fiction (with the exception of Doctor Who related books) but this true story about a young teacher who rescued a penguin and their adventures together at a school in Argentina sounded just too good to miss.

grandmother

Next is the rather long title of My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman. I read the author’s debut novel A Man Called Ove earlier this year and enjoyed both the story and writing style, so I’m hoping his second offering is just as heartwarming.

landline

Having now finally read all three of Rainbow Rowell’s YA novels I decided I would try one of her adult fiction books. I have to admit I know little about the plot other than it involves a telephone that can reach the past. I get the impression that the story is going to be a lot more concerned about the romance side of things rather than science fiction but I’m still hoping there’ll be a reasonable amount of ‘timey wimeyness’ about it.

collided

Confession time – this is a book purchased mostly because of its cover. When We Collided by Emery Lord is a contemporary tale about the lives of two teenagers during the course of one summer (possibly beyond?) and that’s about the extent of my knowledge. I think it’s written in a similar style to the likes of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven so it should be full of beautiful and thought-provoking quotes.

court
Rounding the haul off are A Court of Thorns and Roses/Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. Yes, I’ve finally given in to all the hype surrounding this series. My understanding is that the first book is based on Beauty and the Beast with the second being a loose retelling of the myth of Hades and Persephone, so with those in mind it should be a series I’ll enjoy. I haven’t read the author’s Throne of Glass series (and tbh I have little intention to) so I’m not sure what to expect from the writing but with any luck it won’t be too dense.

***

And that concludes this book haul. From now until the end of the year I’m imposing a book buying ban as I’ve now got 20 books stacked up in my TBR pile with a few ebooks to read as well. No doubt I shall receive books at Christmas too so it’s definitely time to put a stop to spending. I should have plenty of books to keep me going until at least Easter so expect plenty of reviews to come over the next few months.

2 thoughts on “Book haul: One for you, six for me

Leave a Reply

